The short answer is YES.
Hourly non-exempt employees in the state of California must take a lunch prior to their fifth hour of work. They may choose to voluntarily wave their lunch, preferably in writing, if they work a shift that is six hours or less. Failure to compensate an employee appropriately for a missed meal period can result in lawsuits and department of labor fines.
Employee handbooks are not required by law but some of the notifications and policies included ARE required to be communicated and practiced by employers. Employee handbooks also provide a guide to employees what is expected of them in the workplace and what they should expect from you as an employer.
Employers are required to provide paid sick leave to workers in California under the Healthy Workplace Healthy Family Act of 2014.
Here are some of the basic requirements:
Also note that Assembly Bill 152 extends the paid leave for workers affected by COVID-19 until Dec. 31. Workers can receive 40 hours of supplemental paid sick leave if they are unable to work or telework due to reasons related to COVID-19.
Covered employees in the public or private sectors who work for employers with 26 or more employees are entitled to up to 80 hours of 2022 COVID-19 related paid sick leave from January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2022, immediately upon an oral or written request to their employer, with up to 40 of those hours available only when an employee or family member tests positive for COVID-19.